Skip to content

A new baby and a sunny Grasmere day.

February 6, 2010

Late last night my brother and his wife had a little baby girl. Cora Lynne 8lb 6oz. The first girl in the family since me, and that was a while ago!

Was feeling happy when I woke and then pulled the curtains back and it was a sunny day at last. We had another fall of snow mid week and I thought Spring would never arrive, so even if it’s only briefly it’s a welcome sight.

Early morning Grasmere Lake

The drive from Ambleside to Grasmere on the way to work was stunning, I have always said that I must have the best commute to work that anyone could have.

Early morning view, Grasmere Lake

Although I should have been going to work, as usual the temptation was too much and I had to stop and take a few photos near the old Prince of Wales Hotel which is currently undergoing a refurbishment. It looks to me as though it has a long way to go, although the rumour was it was meant to be open by Easter. Here’s hoping they haven’t taken any bookings.

Looking from Prince of Wales hotel, Grasmere Lake.

Sitting looking out at the village now it is lovely to see people sitting outside the cafes drinking coffee in the winter sun. Let’s hope after such a cold winter we have a lovely warm summer. Watch this space ….

One Comment
  1. Congratulations on your new neice!

    If that little jetty is stable, that’s where I’d be if it was a bit warmer! Set on a cushion with a good book and a thermos of coffee. Ahhh……

Leave a Reply

